interesting development…


I passed out while I was on the subway the other day.

It was “interesting”.

So I’ve learned from past experiences that I get into dizzyness/wooziness/fainting trouble when I stand in one spot for about 30 minutes.

It doesn’t help if the temperature in the room is high.

If I’m on my feet for 30 minutes but I’m walking around, then I’m okay. It’s just standing in one spot that I have issues with.

If I’m able to lean against something, that does help, but not for too long.

Now, I should mention that this isn’t normal for me. I’m not a ‘weak’ person. My lightheaded-ness and this ‘passing out’ thing are not commonplace for me. They only started since I started the diet.

My episode on the subway this week happened like this:

  • There was some kind of delay on the subway, so the subway cars were packed!
  • I had to let several trains to past before I could squeeze onto one.
  • I got on okay and was fine for 50% of the ride, until we got to a station where most people usually get off the train, and then I’m able to grab a seat before the new people have a chance to get on.
  • But at this ‘transfer station’, only a couple people got off the train, and so there were no seats available for me to grab!
  • So I was a little disappointed by that. But it was no big deal.
  • I started to feel a little warm. (We’ve been having a crazy heat wave this past week! like 35 degrees, feeling like 45 with the humidity!)
  • The subway doors closed at the next station and I thought “okay. I’m starting to feel weird. …hmm… I’ve been standing for about 25 minutes or so now…. “ (I started to rock back and forth, to try and’snap out of my dizziness/woozyness) My thoughts continued: “okay. I’m going to get off the train at the next stop. – I don’t know if I’ll be able to walk too well- but I need to sit down. So I’ll get off and then sit.”
  • And the next thing I know, there’s a bit of commotion around me, and I’m picking myself up off the floor. People are getting up. telling me to sit. Fanning me with a newspaper. and shoving a bottle of water at me, telling me to drink, and splash the water on my arms and neck.
  • I did everything they told me. It was really nice of the commuters to help me out.

I can’t believe I passed out!

It’s pretty scary!

And it’s so odd not to have any recollection of the event! Like, did I collapse? Did I just slump down? Did I make any noise? Did I hit anyone on the way down? Did everyone in the car know what was going on?

anyways, I need to schedule an appointment with a doctor to determine what’s going on with me.

Overall, I feel like this passing out episode was my fault, because I know that I shouldn’t be standing for 30minutes.

but the fact that 30 minutes of standing is something that gets me into a risk of fainting, is not normal.

Leave a Reply

